Home > debian specific, Hardware, laptops, linux, networking > Android USB tethering and Debian awesomeness

Android USB tethering and Debian awesomeness

Today the wireless network of my company was weird. I kept losing signal or simply losing connection. Ive never used my HTC Desire for tethering before but this time I had to.

I had my doubts that it would work out of the box, but it does.

  • Connect your Android device
  • set it to USB Tethering
  • debian will recognize it and connect over usb0.
  • enjoy.

My setup:

Debian 6 sqeeze

HTC Desire with Android 2.2

  1. June 10, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    I could use a little more information. Where are you setting it to USB teather… did you install an App or change a setting on the phone?

  2. Matti Molskisloiskis
    August 28, 2011 at 9:18 am

    To my big surprise it really works! On Samsung Galaxy Mini, where there are WiFi and other network stuff there is a possibility to either use it as a WiFi hotspot or use it with USB as a mobile connection. Just connect it and find it on the Debian side with network tool. Nothing fancy required.

  3. January 28, 2012 at 11:28 pm

    This is interesting, but when I connect my phone with the cable and enable usb tethering no usb0 device (or any other) is created, so network-manager can’t use it to connect. Can you just post a dmesg or something when you connect your device and enable tethering so I can get an idea of what should happen? Many thanks.

    • January 30, 2012 at 3:15 pm

      Hi, I will try to post that as soon as i get home. For me (using gnome) it showed usb0 right away. best regards.

      • February 4, 2012 at 2:47 pm

        I’ve found the problem: the required driver wasn’t built into my kernel. I’ve found it and recompiled it.

  4. enz1n0
    April 18, 2012 at 11:30 pm

    Hi iacchi,
    could you tell me which is the driver?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

