Home > debian specific, linux > Don’t be afraid of backports

Don’t be afraid of backports

Playing around with debian, i realized that most of my packages were really outdated. Was running Openoffice 2.4 and some other stuff i needed for developing software (java, python and python-webpy) were really old.
I am kinda new to Debian so I was being really carefull with the packages until I get comfortable with apt-get, dpkg and aptitude.
But after some time browsing around and doing single upgrades I decided to go for it. I just did
#aptitude -t lenny-backports safe-upgrade
Everything went fine! now I’m running actual versions of the packages i needed! pretty cool. I am starting to like the Debian package managers.

Still be carefull when doing this as some stuff could break. I did this because I had no important stuff here and didnt have much to loose. Make backups and so on before doing something like this. At your own risk!

have fun!
Centi

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

