Home > debian specific, linux > Debian Lenny ath5k and AR242x

Debian Lenny ath5k and AR242x

As i got my nokia n900 I started to experiment a little with Debian. So I decided to Install Debian Lenny on my main Laptop. Moving from Slackware to Debian was a tough decision but I thought it was time for me to try a new flavour of linux.

Installation was kinda long but easy. X booted nicely and I was enjoying the looks of Gnome (used to fluxbox).

After a while I tried to go online over WLAN. To my surprise my WLAN was not found. My thoughts were that maybe some module didnt load but everything was there.

ifconfig and iwconfig showed my wlan0 interface.

i made an lspci to see if my hardware was detected and the AR242x from Atheros showed fine. Now i googled why the hell isnt it working?

It turns out the out-of-the-box Lenny kernel 2.6.26-2-686 and the ath5k driver included do not like the AR242x.

check this link: http://wiki.debian.org/ath5k#KnownIssues

There are 2 options:

  • Use madwifi drivers.
  • install a newer backported kernel since this bug has been fixed in newer kernels.

havent tried it yet but i guess ill go for the 2nd option! I will keep you informed!

Centi

Categories: debian specific, linux Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

